noobsongs.blogg.se

Wep vs wpa speed
Wep vs wpa speed








  1. Wep vs wpa speed drivers#
  2. Wep vs wpa speed software#
  3. Wep vs wpa speed password#

That's not to say a hacker can't get past the router but if they can then what is any firewall going to stop them? A firewall running inside a LAN will stop other people inside the LAN from accessing your PC. If you do things correctly, computers on the LAN side of a router are protected from outside attack. Lastly, in the current setup, is my desktop computer being protected by the built-in firewall protection of my NAT router as my laptop is, and if not, can it be? This is up to a debate. Once its set up and working you can add them back if you want.

wep vs wpa speed

With all sharing I recommend having no firewalls up, they just add to any issue you might have.

wep vs wpa speed

This page will explain pretty much everything. Is it possible to set up a wireless network between my two computers to transfer files back & forth between the two? Yes. I am not saying use a generated key, altho you can, but it will give you an idea what to use. Just to give you an idea what you should use, this page has a WPA Key generator. It can be between 8 and 63 characters long. just click beside WPA and a little extra bit of the window will appear.on the left side click Wireless Settings.

Wep vs wpa speed password#

  • a box will pop up, the username is admin and the password is password, IF you haven't changed it, which is highly recommended.
  • Wep vs wpa speed drivers#

    If the new drivers don't add WPA support then you'll need a new wireless card.Ĭhanges to the router shouldn't be made by a wireless connection. If it doesn't support WPA then you'll need to get the newest drivers for it. Once you know your wireless card supports WPA, I'd set up the router first. How you get to them is different depending on your setup. You'll need to check your wireless card, WPA settings should be listed where the WEP settings are. Now switching from WEP to WPA is fairly easy. WEP and WPA-PSK/WPA2-PSK are for wireless security only. You gave all the info needed to answer your questions =)

    wep vs wpa speed

    Thanks so much for anyone who is willing to help this poor soul who is a straight-up newbie when it comes to networking…even after trying to learn as much as possible on the net.Įdited by black069, 29 September 2009 - 07:37 PM.įirst let me tell you, your post is AWESOME. Lastly, in the current setup, is my desktop computer being protected by the built-in firewall protection of my NAT router as my laptop is, and if not, can it be? Is it possible to set up a wireless network between my two computers to transfer files back & forth between the two?

    Wep vs wpa speed software#

    Do I change the settings on the router once I have logged in to Netgear's site on the net? Or do I use one of the network wizards in Control Panel? Or do I configure it using Windows software (right-clicking on the connection's icon-via Network Connections in Start Menu-then following advanced settings)?Ī couple more questions, while I have you experts available for help. I really don't even know where to begin as far as changing from WEP to WPA. from my laptop to my desktop and vice-versa across this network. I am not able to (or don't know how to) transfer files, etc. I use Windows to manage/configure the connections on both the laptop & the desktop (as opposed to Intel software). (4) Printer = HP Photosmart All-in-One C6180, which I somehow configured such that I can print (wirelessly) from my laptop. Intel PROSet/Wireless 3945 ABG Network Connection. (1) Router = NetGear RangeMax Wireless Router WPN824 v2 The specs of my devices are the following:

    wep vs wpa speed

    Lastly, for my phone service and fax machine, I have a standard phone cable from the phone jack to the modem (for VoIP) with a splitter also connecting the phone line to the printer (for fax capabilities). A USB cable connects my desktop computer to my printer/scanner/fax machine. Another Ethernet cable connects my router to my desktop computer (the "LAN"…perhaps?). From there, an Ethernet cable connects the modem to my wireless router (for my laptop). The cable connects to the back of my external cable/voice modem. I have a standard co-axial cable coming in from my cable provider (who provides high speed internet, cable TV, and home phone ). I need help switching from WEP to WPA I have seen at least a dozen times where insiders warn that WEP is not adequate for a wireless connection b/c of security concerns."fairly easy to hack."










    Wep vs wpa speed